25. 9 月 2018 · 寫一個評論 · 分類: 新聞 · 標籤:

薩沙Cuttler, 在SF總醫院和管家RN, SEIU 1021

週三九月 19th, 我花了一天假,從我的工作在舊金山總為贖罪, 贖罪日猶太人. 而不是去會堂, 我決定去市政廳參加監事會聽到的歧視性騷擾, 欺凌, 和燒成黑色舊金山市員工.在路上,, 我想過我有護士管理人員的數量誰是黑色的,因為我第一次開始在舊金山總醫院工作 1987: 零. 當我到達時, 人力資源的城頭上發現,黑人僱員不成比例地被“放過”在完成初始試用期前. 儘管只是彌補 15% 勞動力, 黑城員工彌補 34% 解僱. 緩刑的生存是沒有被有尊嚴和尊重對待的保證. 不止一個人報告被稱為正*****在工作, 報告的IT管理和員工平等機會辦公室只有通過人力資源的舊金山分部被告知,他們的投訴不成立. 有幾個人作證說,他們是由身體不適而被迫辭職,因為濫用他們忍受. 黑醫護人員描述的是在他們的地區唯一的一個,甚至沒有費心去申請推廣為他們知道他們的申請將不被考慮的寂寞. 護士描述而受到懲罰公開談論治療效果不佳的黑人患者. 很多人談到想在公共部門,為社區工作,並通過他們的虐待迷惑.

作為一個猶太人, 我覺得用黑色員工團結,因為我們都習慣被指責為我們的不幸. 作為公共部門的工人, 我被一些政客公務員僱員堆蔑視用盡. 作為一名護士, 我對種族主義的預防疫情被允許如何繼續感到沮喪. 作為納稅人, 我受了一點稅是由企業巨頭Facebook的支付反感, 富國銀行, 和美國銀行以及它們是如何由市長後期管理獎勵的“扎克伯格舊金山綜合醫院”的冠名權, “富國銀行廣場”, 和“美國醫療,手術單位的銀行”. 需要注意的是Facebook的報告微乎其微黑色領導,發現兩銀行在黑色和Latinx業主和員工進行系統的掠奪是非常重要的.

我很自豪我的服務業僱員國際工會的地方 1021 組織這一天的證詞,我覺得奇怪的抬升. 為什麼? 因為我看到了我的城市員工的兄弟姐妹們如何勇者. 由於要求公平對待黑人工人並沒有減少其他工人. 因為我一直覺得看到, 歡迎, 和非白人同事的讚賞. 因為我知道我可以在工會成員和工作人​​員算露面時,我受到了不公正的對待或羞辱. 因為有更多的我們這些誰想要互相建立的, 不相互踐踏. 因為我目睹了黑衣人的眼淚祝福監事會室誰拒絕投降絕望.

一位工會工作人員和我共享的刺痛關於猶太歷中最神聖的一天的工作. 不尊重我的人誰祈禱和禁食今天, 但我的監事室的董事會變成了今天的猶太教堂.

更多報導:
非洲裔工人高爐城市種族主義, 在僱用歧視
滋生問題指令打擊市政府部門工作場所的歧視

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開.

by Sasha Cuttler, RN at SF General Hospital and Steward, SEIU 1021

On Wednesday September 19th, I took the day off from my job at San Francisco General for Yom Kippur, the Jewish Day of Atonement. Instead of going to synagogue, I decided to go to City Hall to participate in the Board of Supervisors hearing about the discriminatory harassment, bullying, and firing of Black San Francisco City employees.On the way there, I thought about the number of nurse managers I’ve had who were black since I first started working at San Francisco General Hospital in 1987: Zero.  When I arrived, the City’s head of Human Resources revealed that Black employees are disproportionately being “let go” before completing the initial probationary period. Despite making up only 15% of the workforce, Black City employees make up 34% of dismissals. Survival of probation is no guarantee of being treated with dignity or respect. More than one person reported being called a n***** on the job, reporting it management and the Equal Employee Opportunity office only to be told by the San Francisco Department of Human Resources that their complaint was not substantiated.  Several people testified that they were made physically ill and forced to resign because of the abuse they endured. Black healthcare workers described the loneliness of being the only one in their area and not even bothering to apply for promotion as they know that their application will not be considered.  Nurses described being punished for speaking out about poor treatment of Black patients. Many people spoke of wanting to work in the public sector for their communities and mystified by their mistreatment.

As a Jew, I feel solidarity with Black employees because we are both accustomed to being blamed for our misfortunes. As a public sector worker, I am exhausted by the scorn that some politicians heap on civil service employees.   As a nurse, I am dismayed by how the preventable epidemic of racism is allowed to continue. As a taxpayer, I am disgusted by how little taxes are paid by corporate behemoths Facebook, Wells Fargo, and Bank of America and how they were rewarded by the administration of the late Mayor  with the naming rights of  “Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital”, “Wells Fargo Plaza”, and the “Bank of America Medical-Surgical Unit”.  It is important to note that Facebook reports vanishingly small Black leadership and both banks were found to be systematically preying upon Black and Latinx homeowners and employees.

I am very proud of my Service Employees Union International Local 1021 for organizing this day of testimony and I feel oddly uplifted. Why? Because I saw how courageous my City employee brothers and sisters are. Because calling for fair treatment of Black workers does not diminish other workers. Because I have always felt seen, welcomed, and appreciated by non-white co-workers. Because I know I can count on union members and staff to show up when I am being unfairly treated or humiliated. Because there are many more of those of us who want to build each other up, not tear each other down. Because I witnessed the Board of Supervisors chambers blessed by the tears of Black people who refuse to surrender to despair.

One of the union staffers and I shared a twinge about working on the holiest day of the Jewish calendar. No disrespect to all my people who prayed and fasted today, but  for me the Board of Supervisors chambers turned into a synagogue today.

More Coverage:
African American workers blast city for racism, discrimination in hiring
Breed issues directive to combat workplace discrimination in city departments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.